News 2005-2009

News 2005-2009: (UK) National Trust Announces Winner of 2009 Harpsichord Competition at Fenton House

Contributed by Admin on Jun 03, 2009

Laura Tivendale
, aged 26, has won First Prize in the 9th Broadwood Harpsichord Competition, held at The National Trust’s Fenton House, London, on 11th and 12th May, using instruments from the historic Benton Fletcher Collection of Early Keyboard Instruments. For the Competition, Laura, a recent graduate of the Royal Academy of Music, played three instruments in the collection: the 1664 Hatley virginals, the 1600 Vincentius virginals and the 1761 Shudi harpsichord. Her prize includes the final gala recital in the 2009 Concert Series at Fenton House, on Thursday 13th August, when she will play the large and elaborate Shudi & Broadwood Harpsichord (1770) and one of the smaller instruments in the Collection. Additionally, she will be offered engagements at the Cobbe Collection at Hatchlands (Surrey), at Finchcocks (Kent) and at the Russell Collection (Edinburgh) in 2010.

The jury, consisting of harpsichordist Sharon Gould and BBC journalists Lucie Skeaping and Peter Thresh – also awarded a second prize to Charlotte Wilson, a highly commended to Bojana Dimkovic and a special mention to Nathaniel Mander. Charlotte had placed fourth in the 8th Broadwood Competition held two years ago. Each will receive a certificate at the concert on the 13th August.

Laura, who lives in Highgate, is no newcomer to Fenton House. Last May her lively and charismatic ensemble, The Little Baroque Company, won the coveted Audience Prize at the first Fenton House Ensemble Competition. She also won the Harold Samuel Bach Prize two years running, as well as receiving the Howard Carr Memorial Prize in 2007 and an RAM Foundation Award for general excellence in 2006. Laura enjoys playing a wide variety of repertoire both as a soloist and chamber musician, but she feels a particular affinity for music of the late baroque, which will feature in her prize recital.

The Broadwood Harpsichord Competition was made possible by the former Broadwood Trust who helped to found the competition and provide an endowment for its future. Past winners have been Steven Devine (1993), Robin Bigwood (1995), Kaori Kikuchi (1997), Philippa Estall (1999), Ian Pritchard (2001), David Wright (2003), Andrez Zawisza (2005) and Pawel Siwczak (2007).

TICKETS for the Prizewinner’s Recital on Thursday 13th August at 8pm (£22 including interval refreshments and an opportunity to view the house and gardens) are available from the National Trust Box Office - 08715 271 887 or online