Conferences 2011

Conferences 2011: (US) AMS San Francisco 2011: Awards Presented at the San Francisco Annual Meeting (12 nov 2011)

Contributed by Admin on Nov 22, 2011

At the latest Annual Meeting of the American Musicological Society (10-13 nov 2011), a number of awards were presented. 

“The American Musicological Society was founded in 1934 to advance research in the various fields of music as a branch of learning and scholarship.  3,600 individuals and 1,100 institutional subscribers from over forty nations participate in the Society.“

List of Awards

Kinkeldey Award (best book by scholar beyond early stages):
To: Katherine Bergeron
For: Voice Lessons: French Melodie in the Belle Epoque, Oxford University Press, 2010.

Lockwood Award (best book by scholar in early stages):
To: Gundula Kreuzer
For: Verdi and the Germans: From Unification to the Third Reich, Cambridge University Press, 2010.

Slim Award (best article by scholar beyond early stages):
To: Mark Everist
For: "Grand opera-petit opera: Parisian Opera and Ballet from the Restoration to the Second Empire," 19th-Century Music 33 (2010), 195-231.

Einstein Award (best article by scholar in early stages):
To: Jama Stilwell
For: "A New View of the Eighteenth-Century 'Abduction' Opera: Edification and Escape at the Parisian 'Theatres de la Foire'," Music and Letters 91 (2010), 51-82.

Palisca Award (best edition or translation):
To: Magnus Williamson
For: The Eton Choirbook: Facsimile and Introductory Study, DIAMM Publications, 2010.

Solie Award (outstanding collection of essays):
To: Amanda Bayley
For: Recorded Music: Performance, Culture and Technology, Cambridge University Press, 2010.

Stevenson Award (outstanding scholarship in Iberian music, including music composed, performed, created, collected, belonging to, or descended from the musical cultures of Spain, Portugal, and all Latin American areas in which Spanish and Portuguese are spoken):
To: Susan Thomas
For: Cuban Zarzuela: Performing Race and Gender on Havana's Lyric Stage, University of Illinois Press, 2009.

Music in American Culture Award (outstanding scholarship in music of the United States):
To: Albin Zak
For: I Don't Sound Like Nobody: Remaking Music in 1950s America, University of Michigan Press, 2010.

Thomas Hampson Award (Classic Song)
To: Rufus Hallmark
For: Robert Schumann. Frauenliebe und Leben (Op. 42): Context, Composition, and Interpretation

Greenberg Award (outstanding performance projects):
To: Philip Bohlman and the New Budapest Orpheum Society
For: "Representing the Holocaust, Resounding Terezin"

Paul A. Pisk Prize (outstanding paper at annual meeting by graduate student):
To: Mark Ferraguto
For: "Beethoven a la moujik: Russianness and Learned Style in the 'Rasumovsky' String Quartets"

Administered by the LGBTQ Study Group:
Philip Brett Award (oustanding work in gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender/transsexual studies):
To: William Cheng
For: "Acoustemologies of the Closet, The Wizard, the Troll, and the Fortress," forthcoming in The Oxford Handbook of Virtuality (Oxford University Press)    

To: Emily Wilbourne
For: "Amor nello specchio (1622): Mirroring, Masturbation, and Same-Sex Love," Women and Music 13 (2009): 54-65.

Visit the AMS website for more information.