Competitions 2016

Competitions 2016: (US) Historical Society Keyboard of North American 2016 Jurow Competition Winners

Contributed by admin on Apr 16, 2016

A LOOK BACK at the winners of the HKS 2016 Jurow Competition winners which were announced on March 26th 2016. Congratulations go out to Eunji Lee, First Prize / Patrick Merrill, Second Prize / Kyle Collins, Jurow Prize for a Promising Semifinalist / And to the other finalists: Joyce Chen, Sofija Grgur, Sihyun Chun, Mylene Belanger.

"The Jurow International Harpsichord Performance Competition was established 30 years ago, with the generous support of Mae and Irving Jurow, in the interest of creating competitive activities for harpsichordists, since very few such opportunities existed in this country [US] ...

The first competition was held at the 1982 Conclave in Tallahassee, Florida, and has occurred approximately every 4 years since. Karyl Louwenaar was its first director, followed by Charlotte Mattax until passing the directorship to Vivian Montgomery in 2010."

PRIZES: First Prize – $5000 (US); Second Prize – $2500 (US); Third Prize – $1500 (US); Jurow Prize – $750 to be awarded to a promising non-finalist (Mae and Irving Jurow, donors).

Visit the HKS website for more information of the competition.