Discography: (SE) eClassical CDNew Release: "Mozart - C minor Mass" (Release date: 10 Nov 2016)

Contributed by admin on Nov 15, 2016

"Following on the 2015 release of Mozart’s Requiem, Masaaki Suzuki and his Bach Collegium Japan has gone on to record the composers Mass in C minor, K427 – the ‘Great Mass’. As the nickname indicates it is a work of unusual proportions for a mass of the Classical period. ....

– or would have been so, had Mozart completed it. It is not known for what occasion Mozart intended the work, but a letter to his father Leopold dated 4 January 1783 indicate that he may have committed himself to writing it in connection with his marriage to Constanze and a planned visit to Salzburg."

  • Composer: Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus
  • Performers:
    • Immler, Christian
    • Sakurada, Makoto
    • Sampson, Carolyn
    • Vermeulen, Olivia
  • Orchestras/Ensembles:    Bach Collegium Japan
  • Conductors: Suzuki, Masaaki
  • Label: BIS
  • Catalogue number: BIS-2171 SACD
  • Release date: 2016-11-10
  • Discs: 1
  • Orig. sample rate: 96000Hz
  • Total time: 71:17

Visit the eClassical website for more information and for discounted pricing on downloads.