Competitions 2012

Competitions 2012: (US) Historical Keyboard Society: Jurow International Harpsichord Competition (21-25 Mar 2012)

Contributed by Admin on Jan 18, 2012

Location:  University of Cincinnati College-Conservatory of Music

“The Jurow Competition semi-final round will feature 16 contestants performing solo works by Byrd and Bach, a movement from James Dorsa's Jupiter's Moons, and accompanying violinist Martie Perry on the Sonata in D minor by Elisabeth Jacquet de La Guerre. The selected semi-finalists are: Leon Schelhase, Nadja Lesaulnier, Lark Powers, Assaf Sommer, Mo-ah Kim, Chiaki Omura, Mark Edwards, Jia Lim, Tami Morse, Ricardo Magnus, Elisabetta Ferri, Shin Hwang, Jovana Bojovic, Jacob Street, Elena Zamolodchikova, & Faythe Vollrath.

The finals will feature 6 performers on 50-minute programs to include works of Louis Couperin, Bach, and accompanying soprano Janet Youngdahl on cantatas by Barbara Strozzi. Prizes will be announced at a reception following. PRIZES are as follows (in US dollars): First Prize, $5000; Second Prize, $2500; Third Prize, $1500; Jurow Prize, $750 to be awarded to a promising non-finalist, Mae and Irving Jurow, donors. The jury consists of Ketil Haugsand (Hochschule für Musik in Cologne), Dana Maiben (Longy School of Music, continuo judge), Mitzi Meyerson (Universität der Künste, Berlin), Vivian Montgomery (University of Cincinnati CCM), and Edward Parmentier (University of Michigan). ”

Visit the Jurow International Harpsichord Competition for more information.